Methamphetamine abuse has become an increasingly pervasive problem across the country in recent years, and Arkansas is no exception.
Arkansas law divides controlled dangerous substances into six categories (Schedules I-VI) based on how addictive they are and how likely they are to be abused. Schedule I drugs have the highest potential for abuse and include drugs such as opiates and hallucinogens. By contrast, marijuana belongs to the Schedule VI classification. Drugs with higher abuse potential come with higher penalties.
However, methamphetamines-together with cocaine-are given an entirely separate category from the above schedule-based classification. Crimes involving these drugs are always serious, ranging from a Class D felony to a Class Y felony. The severity of penalties involving these drugs vary depending on factors including:
· How much of the drug is in possession and
· Whether there is intent to sell/deliver the drug.
For example, it is a Class C felony to own 2-10 grams of methamphetamine-punishable by up to 10 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines. The punishment is the same if you own less than 2 grams and you intend to sell it.
Below is a breakdown of the penalties for different crimes involving methamphetamines under Arkansas law:
· Class D felony: up to 6 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines
· Class C felony: 3-10 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines
· Class B felony: 5-20 years in prison and up to $15,000 in fines
· Class A felony: 6-30 years in prison and up to $15,000 in fines
· Class Y felony: 10-40 years in prison and fines as determined by the court
Methamphetamine use is a serious offense in Arkansas. A qualified drug crimes attorney can help you understand your options if you’ve been accused of this crime.