Arkansas courts can implement drug trafficking charges based on the amount of the substance in question. The state considers this offense a Class Y felony.
Review the categorization and possible penalties before facing court for controlled substance trafficking in Arkansas.
Types and amounts of substances
An individual can receive state drug trafficking charges with possession of at least:
- 500 lbs. of a substance in Schedule VI, such as salvia or cannabis
- 800 g of a substance in Schedule IV or V, such as pseudoephedrine or tramadol
- 400 g of a substance in Schedule III, such as anabolic steroids or barbiturates
- 200 g of a substance in Schedule I or II, including cocaine, methamphetamine, hallucinogens, opiates and amphetamines
These amounts also apply to the distillates of and ingredients for these substances where applicable.
Felony drug crime penalties
Some offenders may qualify for a lesser sentence of possession with intent to deliver. Depending on the type of substance and the amount, conviction could result in:
- A Class C felony, which carries a fine of up to $10,000 along with three to 10 years in prison
- A Class B felony, which carries a fine of up to $15,000 along with five to 20 years in prison
- A Class A felony, which carries a fine of up to $15,000 along with six to 30 years in prison
Arkansas has some of the nation’s strictest controlled substance laws. Convicted individuals who receive a Class Y felony for drug trafficking are subject to at least 10 and up to 40 years in prison.