Surprisingly, not everyone may know that holding a permit to concealed carry does not necessarily give you the right to carry a gun. You also need to follow all of the rules associated with the permit once you receive it.
In short, a concealed carry permit is not a pass to freely carry guns in any situation, and you still need to stick to the rules. But what exactly are these rules? How do you go about getting a permit in the first place?
How to gain a permit
The Arkansas Department of Public Safety discusses the application you must fill out in order to gain a permit. This serves as the first step in the process. Note that the Director of the Division of Arkansas State Police has every right to deny your application. They will likely deny the applications of those with criminal records, or if another person gives an affidavit that proves you could potentially become a danger to yourself or others.
Following the rules
You also need to follow the strict set of rules that accompany concealed carry permits. First, observe all places that do not permit it. This includes churches, schools, courtrooms and any area with a sign posted saying that they do not permit the carrying of concealed arms.
You must be at least 21 years of age, with the exception of those on active duty or discharged from the military, who may apply at 18. You must have permanent residency or U.S. citizenship, and live in Arkansas for 90 days. You need to have a clean bill of physical and mental health and not have any felony convictions.
Finally, you must tell the truth in your application. Failure to do so can result in misdemeanor charges.