People who qualify for a presidential pardon of federal simple marijuana possession offenses can now apply online for a certificate of proof. The pardon does not apply to state marijuana convictions.
Who is eligible and why should they apply?
To qualify for the pardon, your charge or conviction for simple possession of marijuana must have happened on or before October 6, 2022. You must also have been a U.S. citizen or lawfully present in the U.S. when you committed the offense and on October 6, 2022.
Reasons to apply
The pardon does not expunge your record. However, it may remove restrictions due to your conviction, such as on your right to vote, be on a jury or hold public office. It may also make it easier to obtain some types of bonds, licenses or employment.
Arkansas marijuana laws
Arkansas law still makes possession, use or sale of marijuana for recreational purposes illegal. A conviction for simple possession in Arkansas can result in up to 30 years in prison and a fine of up to $15,000. The penalties increase with the amount of marijuana found in your possession.
Qualifying patients and caregivers may possess up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis for medical purposes. Potential patients must submit an application with a written certification from their physician and pay a $50 fee to qualify.
If you have a federal charge or conviction for simple possession of marijuana, applying for a presidential pardon could benefit you. However, any restrictions you face due to state charges will remain in place.